I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Flood Mitigation Assistance

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department Of Homeland Security
CFDA #: 97.029

Assistance considerations...

Length and Time Phasing of Assistance

The average performance period for FMA grants is generally 2 years, but may be extended once for planning grants and twice for project grants.

Formula and Matching Requirements

The FEMA Director allocates available funds for FMA each fiscal year in a lump sum to each FEMA Region for distribution to the States and communities. Under the current formula, each State and territory receives a base amount of $10,000 for Planning, and $100,000 for Projects. The remaining funds are distributed based on the number of NFIP policies, repetitive loss structures, and other such criteria as the Director may determine in furtherance of the disaster resistant community concept. FEMA may contribute up to 75 percent of the cost of eligible activities. The remaining percent must be met by matching requirements from State government or other nonfederal funding sources. Up to one-half of the nonfederal share may be met by in-kind contributions from third parties. The remaining half of the nonfederal share must be met by State and local government expenditures and cash funds identified at the time of application.

A formula may be based on population, per capita income, and other statistical factors. Applicants are informed whether there are any matching requirements to be met when participating in the cost of a project. In general, the matching share represents that portion of the project costs not borne by the Federal government. Attachment F of OMB Circular No. A-102 (Office of Management and Budget) sets forth the criteria and procedures for the evaluation of matching share requirements which may be cash or in-kind contributions made by State and local governments or other agencies, institutions, private organizations, or individuals to satisfy matching requirements of Federal grants or loans.

Cash contributions represent the grantees' cash outlay, including the outlay of money contributed to the grantee by other public agencies, institutions, private organizations, or individuals. When authorized by Federal regulation, Federal funds received from other grants may be considered as the grantees' cash contribution.

In-kind contributions represent the value of noncash contributions provided by the grantee, other public agencies and institutions, private organizations or individuals. In-kind contributions may consist of charges for real property and equipment, and value of goods and services directly benefiting and specifically identifiable to the grant program. When authorized by Federal legislation, property purchased with Federal funds may be considered as grantees' in-kind contribution.

Maintenance of effort (MOE) is a requirement contained in certain legislation, regulations, or administrative policies stating that a grantee must maintain a specified level of financial effort in a specific area in order to receive Federal grant funds, and that the Federal grant funds may be used only to supplement, not supplant, the level of grantee funds.